Monday, 22 June 2015

Name Change #2: Red Star Mossley

Another of the established Championship clubs has announced a change of name with immediate effect, in this case 5-times title winners Mossley, who will henceforth be sponsored by the Greater Manchester branch of the Communist Party, essentially being the sporting/football wing of the organization, and thus known as Red Star Mossley, with the intention to incorporate a red star into the design of the club’s traditional green, black and red colours for the coming 2015-16 season.

Thursday, 11 June 2015

Name Change: Manchester Central

EWFA Championship club Manchester City have announced that they will henceforth be known as Manchester Central, and will kick-off the 2015-16 season as such.
This is as far as the rebranding process goes, as the traditional club colours of sky blue shirts and white shorts will be retained.

Thursday, 4 June 2015

European League Champions and Cup Winners 2014 - 15

With the dust having settled on the domestic season, it's now possible to take stock of events on the continent and publish the list of the various league champions and cup winners from across Europe - these being the teams who, potentially, Stalybridge Celtic and Gainsborough Trinity might encounter during their adventures in next season's Champions' and inaugural Cup-Winners' Cups respectively.

Many a familiar name appears on the list, serial champions such as Internazionale and St-Etienne are present, as are Atletico Madrid and Vasas Budapest, both league winners again, and RWD Molenbeek in Belgium, completing a hat-trick of title triumphs, so the competition for the European trophies will be as fierce as ever, and the quality doubtless as high.